Chaotic Beauty of Doom Eternal: A Thrilling Journey into Hell

Doom Eternal

The 2016 Doom reboot has a follow-up called Doom Eternal. On March 19, 2020, the game was released for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC, and Google Stadia one day early. After a postponement, the Nintendo Switch version was eventually released on December 8, 2020.

On June 29, 2021, the PlayStation 5 version was made available. Xbox Gamepass users can now access the Xbox X/S version. On October 20, 2020, The Ancient Gods – Part One was released. The Ancient Gods – Part Two, a follow-up, was published on March 18, 2021.


Doom Eternal’s multiplayer mode, known as Battlemode, features an asymmetrical 2v1 deathmatch in which two players assume the roles of demons and a third player, the Slayer. Demon players can use a variety of skills to defeat the Slayer by assuming the roles of Archvile, Mancubus, Marauder, Pain Elemental, Revenant, or Dread Knight in Battlemode.


  1. Hell on Earth
  2. Exultia
  3. Cultist Base
  4. Doom Hunter Base
  5. Super Gore Nest
  6. ARC Complex
  7. Mars Core
  8. Sentinel Prime
  9. Taras Nabad
  10. Nekravol
  11. Nekravol – Part II
  12. Urdak
  13. Final Sin

Doom Eternal: Monsters


  • Buff Totem
  • Cueball
  • Tentacle


  • Gargoyle 
  • Imp 
  • Lost Soul 
  • Mecha Zombie
  • Soldier
  • Zombie


  • Arachnotron
  • Cacodemon
  • Carcass
  • Cyber Mancubus
  • Dread Knight
  • Hell Knight
  • Maykr Drone
  • Mancubus
  • Pain Elemental
  • Pinky
  • Prowler
  • Revenant
  • Spectre
  • Whiplash

Super Heavy

  • Archvile
  • Baron of Hell
  • Doom Hunter
  • Marauder
  • Tyrant


  • Doom Hunter
  • Marauder
  • The Gladiator
  • Khan Maykr
  • Icon of Sin


  • Ballista
  • BFG 9000
  • Chaingun
  • Chainsaw
  • Doomblade
  • Unmaykr
  • Meat Hook
  • Plasma Rifle
  • Super Shotgun
  • Heavy Cannon
  • The Crucible
  • Pistol (unused)
  • Rocket Launcher
  • Combat Shotgun
  • Equipment Launcher

Master Levels

Master levels are a feature of Doom Eternal. They remix campaign levels with fresh enemy and hazard layouts to make the game harder. The Cultist Base master level was exclusive to players who pre-ordered the game; at launch, the ARC Complex master level was the only one accessible. On December 1, 2020, the Super Gore Nest master level was added. On June 29, 2021, the Taras Nabad master level was introduced. On October 26, 2021, the Mars Core and World Spear master levels were added. Other levels, such as Hell on Earth, Exultia, Doom Hunter Base, Final Sin, Reclaimed Earth, and Immoral, are confirmed to be arriving soon.

Doom Eternal Release Date

Doom Eternal’s March 20, 2020, release date fell on the same day as Nintendo’s Animal Crossing: New Horizons. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and expected demand for both games, GameStop chose to begin selling Doom Eternal one day early, on the 19th, in order to ease congestion. Fans of both shows celebrated the coincidence by making whimsical crossover art that portrayed Isabelle from Animal Crossing and Doomguy as “best friends,” despite the games’ stark tonal differences and simultaneous release dates.


The game was revealed at QuakeCon 2018 and publisher Bethesda Softworks announced at E3 2018. The Xbox One, Windows, PlayStation 4, and Nintendo Switch were scheduled to receive the game’s release. The release date of Doom Eternal on Google’s Stadia streaming service was revealed in 2019. Panic Button created the Nintendo Switch version of the game, while id Software developed the original. Hugo Martin, the game director, and Marty Stratton, the executive producer, were both back from their roles as Doom directors.

This is the first game created using the id Tech 7 engine. The team’s goal, according to Stratton, was to create a “Doom universe” with more expansive and diverse locations for players to explore, such as “Hell on Earth.” In contrast to its predecessor, the multiplayer aspect of the game was developed internally by ID Software rather than being contracted out to Certain Affinity, to create a more “social” and “connected” multiplayer experience with the single-player campaign.

The group decided to discontinue the SnapMap mode and reallocate its resources to create downloadable content for the campaign after launch. Doom Eternal was supposed to launch on November 22, 2019, but it was eventually rescheduled for March 20, 2020. A Nintendo Switch port was to be released at a later time. The December 8, 2020, release date for the Switch port was disclosed on November 30.


The game now has four difficulty levels, with the Ultra-Nightmare level remaining in place. However, these levels tend to be a little harder than those in Doom (2016). There is no infinite ammo pistol, and the shotgun is now the first weapon, which is a noticeable change to the weapon set.

The chainsaw makes up for this by always having at least one fuel, and it functions similarly to Doom (2016) in that it drops ammunition when a victim is killed. Additionally, alternate fire modes from DOOM ’16 have returned, and they’ve been adjusted to make switching between them more feasible. With the addition of a cooldown-style shoulder cannon, the Doom Slayer can now fire grenades, ice bombs, or bursts of flame without pausing an attack. Enemies are stunned and forced to drop armor by the flame belch. 

Similar to a three-dimensional Super Mario game, Doom Eternal places more of an emphasis on making big jumps and climbs. As a result of the game’s increased emphasis on mobility, the DOOM Slayer can now swing from monkey bars, climb walls, and use the Super Shotgun to acquire a grappling hook. In addition to having his twice-jump boots from Doom (2016), the Slayer can now climb some rough-textured walls like an Imp and soon learns how to dash through the air. When combined with jumping, this allows Doomguy to travel across vast stretches of empty air, which adds to the game’s uniqueness from Doom ’16. Other items reappear, including collectible toys and field drones.

Demons that have killed a player in another campaign will now show up in the player’s campaign thanks to a new feature called “enabled demons.” Despite being more powerful than usual, these demons provide superior drops upon defeat. Now, in Eternal’s single-player campaign, the Playable Demons feature from the Doom (2016) multiplayer mode makes an appearance as well, albeit briefly as a demo.

In the main campaign, Extra Lives is also a return from DOOM ’16’s Arcade mode, but they’ve been changed to allow players to respawn instantly without losing their arena progress rather than having to restart from a checkpoint a set number of times.[1] The player can activate “Extra Life Mode” and use these Extra Lives like a classic video game, with permadeath upon exhausting the last Life, along with any difficulty level save Ultra-Nightmare.

Read More


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *